Outer Banks Schools

By Beth P. Storie | Wednesday, January 6, 2010

Outer Banks schools are in three counties: Currituck, Dare and Hyde. Currituck County schools service the far northern Outer Banks (Corolla) and Currituck mainland and include Currituck County High School and J. P. Knapp Early College High School as well as Currituck County Middle School and seven elementary schools. Ocracoke Island has one public school that serves all students from kindergarten through 12th grade. The remainder of the Outer Banks is in Dare County with Nags Head Elementary, Kitty Hawk Elementary, Manteo Elementary, First Flight Elementary, First Flight Middle, Manteo Middle, Manteo High School, First Flight High School and Cape Hatteras Elementary and Secondary schools.

Business and community participation is the lifeblood of the local schools. Schools put on lots of events and festivals each year as fundraisers for various groups and functions and to bring the community together. Many parents and community members volunteer with the schools or contribute to the schools.

About the Author Beth P. Storie
Beth Storie first came to the Outer Banks for the summer of 1976. She fell in love with the area and returned for good three years later. She and her husband published the national guidebook series, The Insiders' Guides, for more than 20 years and now are building OneBoat guides into another national brand. After spending time in many dozens of cities around the country, she absolutely believes that her hometown of Manteo is the best place on earth, especially when her two children, six cats and one dog are there too.